298 N. Pine St., Globe, AZ 85501 • Ph: 928-425-7121 • Fax: 928-425-7001
Current E-Edition

News Sports Lifestyles Obituaries ApacheMoccasin Letters Photos Home 

Election results are in

Posted: Tuesday, Nov 13th, 2012

Gila County — Unofficial election results for Gila County were posted Wednesday morning on the Gila County website at www.gilacountyaz.gov. In the race for President of the United States, an overwhelming majority of Gila County voters gave their vote to the Republican candidate, Mitt Romney (62.18 percent), over Democrat Barack Obama (35.88 percent). Obama was re-elected President Tuesday night in a close race.

All results for the state of Arizona can be found on the County website by clicking on the “Election Results 2012” icon on the left-hand side.

Results for the state and local races and propositions were reported as follows.

In the race for U.S. Senate, Jeff Flake (R) was able to secure his win over his opponent, Richard Carmona (D) by capturing 56.16 percent of the vote. Carmona received 38.49 percent. Flake will now take over the seat held by long-time Arizona senator, Jon Kyl.

In a very heated race, Democrat Ann Kirkpatrick won back her seat in the U.S. Congress for District 1 by capturing 53.72 percent of the votes. Her opponent, Jonathan Paton (R), received 36.9 percent.

In the race for State Representatives for District 8, the two Democratic candidates defeated the Republicans as follows: Ernest Bustamonte (D), 27.59 percent; Emily Verdugo (D), 26.93 percent; Frank Pratt, 24.52 percent; and Thomas Shope, 20.87 percent.

The Corporation Commission will be all Republican with the three top vote-getters in last Tuesday’s election being Bob Stump (R) with 19.19 percent, Robert Burns with 18.10 percent, and Susan Bitter Smith with 18.06 percent. They defeated the Democratic candidates, Paul Newman (14.48 percent), Sandra Kennedy (13.95 percent) and Marcia Busching (12.2 percent).

For Gila County Board of Supervisors, Dist. 1, Tommie Cline Martin (R) defeated her opponent Hallie Overman-Jackman by winning 73.5 percent of the votes cast compared to Jackman’s 26.37 percent.

In District 2, incumbent Mike Pastor (D) defeated David Cook (R) 53.72 percent to Cook’s 46.09 percent.

In District 3, John D. Marcanti (D) ran unopposed after winning the primary earlier this year. Marcanti received 98.51 percent.

Another race decided early on in the primary was that of County Attorney. Bradley Beauchamp (R) ran unopposed in the general election, receiving 98.45 percent of the vote.

In the race for Gila County Sheriff, Republican Adam Shepherd was able to defeat his Democratic opponent, Craig Jones, 57.05 percent to Jones’ 42.71 percent.

Incumbent Gila County Treasurer, Deborah Savage (D), was able to retain her seat by defeating her opponent Don Ascoli (R). Savage received 53.33 percent compared to Ascoli’s 46.53 percent.

Dr. Linda O’Dell (R) ran unopposed in both the primary and general elections for Gila County Superintendent of Schools. She received 98.99 percent in last Tuesday’s election.

In another heated race, republican incumbent Sadie Jo Tomerlin was able to keep her position as County Recorder for another four years by defeating her opponent, Mickie Nye (D). Tomerlin received 65.72 percent of the votes to Nye’s 34.16 percent.

There will be a changing of the guard at the County Assessor’s Office. Deborah Hughes (R) captured 54.15 percent of the votes cast, thereby defeating her opponent, long-time county assessor Dale Hom (D), who received 45.72 percent.

Voters elected to retain Justice of Arizona Supreme Court John Pelander in office with a 73.54 percent approval rate. Voters also retained Judge Joseph Howard, Court of Appeals, with a 73.63 approval rate.

Judge Peter Cahill of Superior Court Division 1 was also retained in office with a 98.92 percent approval rate.

Results of the Globe Unified School Board election were:

Jacque Cline Griffin, 26.93 percent

Judy Moorhead, 19.71 percent

Noelle Anderson, 19.08 percent

Anna Harmon-James, 18.73 percent

Ann Corsey, 15.06 percent

For the GUSD vacancy, the only name on the ballot was Cayci Vuksanovich, who received 98.76 percent of the votes.

In the MUSD override question, voters did not approve the measure with 53.09 percent saying “nay” and 46.91 percent saying “yes.”

Results for the propositions are as follows:

Prop 114 (protecting crime victims from liability for damages): passed, YES - 78.59 percent; NO -21.41 percent

Prop 115 (relating to term length and raises retirement age for justices and judges): failed, NO - 76.86 percent; YES - 23.14 percent

Prop 116 (relating to property tax exemptions on business equipment): failed, NO – 54.75 percent; YES – 45.25 percent

Prop 117 (setting a 5 percent increase limit on annual increase in property values used to determine taxes): passed, YES – 57.88 percent; NO – 42.12 percent

Prop 118 (changes distribution formula for the state land trust endowment fund): passed, YES – 52.07 percent; NO – 47.93 percent

Prop 119 (authorizing exchange of state trust lands for specific uses): passed, YES – 63.18 percent; NO – 36.82 percent

Prop 120 (repealing Arizona’s disclaimer of all right and title to federal public lands in Arizona and declaring its sovereignty over public lands and resources): failed, NO – 63.05 percent; YES – 36.95

Prop 121 (creating an open primary to replace party-based primary system): failed, NO – 66.09 percent; YES – 33.91 percent

Prop 204 (making 1 percent sales tax permanent for purpose of funding education and public transportation infrastructure projects): failed, NO – 71.36 percent; YES – 28.64 percent

Select Page:


Shoppe Hide

Follow Us... Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal